Boise State Football

Boise State QB Brett Rypien gets top Mountain West honor

Boise State QB Brett Rypien wins MW Offensive Player of the Year

Boise State senior QB Brett Rypien reflects on being named Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year.
Up Next
Boise State senior QB Brett Rypien reflects on being named Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year.

Boise State senior quarterback Brett Rypien was named the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year on Wednesday.

Rypien is Boise State’s first MW Offensive Player of the Year since quarterback Kellen Moore in 2011. Rypien ranks 11th nationally in pass efficiency with 29 touchdown passes and seven interceptions.

“It means a lot, couple great names, especially at quarterback, that have received that award ... great to be in that type of company,” Rypien said.

Currently with 13,456 career passing yards, Rypien is the Mountain West’s all-time leader and No. 15 in FBS history. His touchdown total is his career best, and he’s 67 yards shy of topping his best season in terms of yardage (3,646 in 2016). He also has a chance Saturday to lead Boise State to back-to-back Mountain West titles for the first time when the Broncos host Fresno State.

“It’s been everything I’ve ever dreamed of so far. We want to finish this out strong,” Rypien said.

Rypien was named All-Mountain West first team for the third time, leading seven Broncos on the 2018 team. The others: running back Alexander Mattison, offensive linemen Ezra Cleveland and John Molchon, STUD ends Jabril Frazier and Curtis Weaver and cornerback Tyler Horton.

Mattison has rushed for 1,215 yards and 16 touchdowns this season and has three consecutive games with 144 or more yards. Cleveland and Molchon, a sophomore tackle and junior guard, respectively, have started all 12 games on the left side and have allowed only four sacks combined. It’s the first first-team nod for all three.

“It’s a true honor, it’s a blessing, couldn’t have done it without those guys up front,” Mattison said.

Rypien, Frazier and Horton are the Broncos’ three senior captains. Frazier has a career-best 44 tackles and 8.5 for loss, while Horton has scored three defensive touchdowns this season (two fumbles, one interception). Weaver was honored as a first-teamer for the second time. He’s led the Mountain West in sacks in both seasons he’s played, racking up 9.5 this season.

Boise State STUD ends Jabril Frazier and Curtis Weaver have been nicknamed velociraptors by coach Bryan Harsin for the job they do chasing opposing quarterbacks. The Mountain West Network produced a feature on them.

Wide receiver Sean Modster (64 catches and 933 yards, seven TDs) made the second team. Defensive end Durrant Miles, safety Kekoa Nawahine and cornerback/return specialist Avery Williams received honorable mention.

Fresno State linebacker Jeff Allison was named Defensive Player of the Year and Utah State coach Matt Wells the Coach of the Year. Wyoming kicker Cooper Rothe was Special Teams Player of the Year and Nevada running back Toa Taua was Freshman of the Year.


Brett Rypien, Sr., QB, Boise State


Jeff Allison, Jr., LB, Fresno State


Cooper Rothe, Jr., PK, Wyoming


Toa Taua, RB, Nevada


Matt Wells, Utah State



Pos. Player Cl. Team

QB Brett Rypien** Sr. Boise State

WR Preston Williams Jr. Colorado State

WR John Ursua Jr. Hawai‘i

RB Alexander Mattison Jr. Boise State

RB Nico Evans Sr. Wyoming

TE Josh Oliver Sr. San José State

OL Ezra Cleveland So. Boise State

OL John Molchon Jr. Boise State

OL Christian Cronk Sr. Fresno State

OL Keith Ismael So. San Diego State

OL Quin Ficklin Sr. Utah State

PK Cooper Rothe Jr. Wyoming

PR/KR Savon Scarver So. Utah State


Pos. Player Cl. Team

DL Jabril Frazier Sr. Boise State

DL Curtis Weaver* So. Boise State

DL Mykal Walker Jr. Fresno State

DL Korey Rush Sr. Nevada

LB Jeff Allison* Jr. Fresno State

LB Malik Reed* Sr. Nevada

LB Kyahva Tezino Jr. San Diego State

DB Tyler Horton* Sr. Boise State

DB Tank Kelly Sr. Fresno State

DB Dakari Monroe Sr. San José State

DB Andrew Wingard** Sr. Wyoming

P Ryan Stonehouse So. Colorado State

*Two-Time First-Team Selection | **Three-Time First-Team Selection



Pos. Player Cl. Team

QB Jordan Love So. Utah State

WR Sean Modster Sr. Boise State

WR KeeSean Johnson* Sr. Fresno State

RB Lexington Thomas Sr. UNLV

RB Darwin Thompson Jr. Utah State

TE Jared Rice Jr. Fresno State

OL Griffin Landrum Sr. Air Force

OL Micah St. Andrew Sr. Fresno State

OL Aaron Jenkins Sr. New Mexico

OL Ryan Pope Sr. San Diego State

OL Roman Andrus Sr. Utah State

PK John Baron II Sr. San Diego State

PR/KR Marcus Hayes Fr. New Mexico


Pos. Player Cl. Team

DL Jordan Jackson So. Air Force

DL Kaimana Padello Jr. Hawai‘i

DL Bryson Bridges Sr. San José State

DL Carl Granderson Sr. Wyoming

LB Josh Watson Sr. Colorado State

LB Tipa Galeai Jr. Utah State

LB David Woodward So. Utah State

DB Mike Bell Jr. Fresno State

DB Juju Hughes Jr. Fresno State

DB Tariq Thompson* So. San Diego State

DB Jontrell Rocquemore Sr. Utah State

P Blake Cusick Jr. Fresno State