Boise State Basketball

Boise State men’s basketball: What you need to know for the 2016-17 season

Statesman file photo

The Broncos have five seasons of 20 or more wins under seventh-year head coach Leon Rice, including the last four in a row. The 2016-17 campaign could have its ups and downs, however, as Boise State returns one full-time starter from last season in forward Nick Duncan. The roster is filled with more questions than answers, though there is talent across the board. Boise State’s early schedule won’t do it any favors, either, with trips to Charleston, S.C., Oregon, Evansville, Ind., and a home matchup against SMU. Come Mountain West play, though, and the Broncos should be battle-tested enough to make some noise in the conference race.

BOISE STATE MEN’S BASKETBALL ROSTER

Number

Name

Year

Position

Height

Weight

Hometown

Previous school

21

Derrick Alston

Freshman

Guard

6-8

153

Houston

Strake Jesuit High

30

Paris Austin

Sophomore

Guard

6-0

175

Oakland, Calif.

Bishop O’Dowd High

0

Marcus Dickinson

Freshman

Guard

6-2

177

Norman, Okla.

North Norman High

13

Nick Duncan

Senior

Forward

6-8

265

Sydney, Australia

St. Augustine’s College

11

Zach Haney

RS Sophomore

Forward

6-11

242

Humble, Texas

Atascocita High

5

Malek Harwell

RS Freshman

Guard

6-4

186

Pocatello

Century High

34

Alex Hobbs

Freshman

Guard

6-4

189

La Porte, Texas

La Porte High

15

Chandler Hutchison

Junior

Guard

6-7

193

Mission Viejo, Calif.

Mission Viejo High

3

Justinian Jessup

Freshman

Guard

6-6

193

Longmont, Colo.

Longmont High

10

Robin Jorch

Sophomore

Center

6-11

252

Berlin, Germany

International Berlin Basketball Academy

23

Cameron Oluyitan

Sophomore

Guard

6-6

183

Houston

Gillette College

55

James Reid

RS Senior

Guard

6-3

193

Bend, Ore.

Arkansas-Little Rock

34

David Wacker

RS Sophomore

Forward

6-10

239

Converse, Texas

Judson High

BOISE STATE MEN’S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE

Date

Opponent

Time/MT (TV)

Saturday, Nov. 12

vs. Northwest University

1 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 17

@ College of Charleston

5 p.m. (ESPN3)

Friday, Nov. 18

@ Charleston Classic

TBA (ESPN Networks)

Sunday, Nov. 20

@ Charleston Classic

TBA (ESPN Networks)

Friday, Nov. 24

vs. Presbyterian

7 p.m.

Monday, Nov. 28

@ Oregon

9 p.m. (Pac-12)

Wednesday, Nov. 30

vs. SMU

7 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 3

@ Evansville

Noon

Monday, Dec. 5

@ Loyola Marymount

8 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 10

vs. Portland

2 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 18

vs. Idaho State

4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 21

vs. Cal State Northridge

7 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 28

@ Utah State

7 p.m. (Root)

Saturday, Dec. 31

vs. Colorado State

4 p.m. (ESPN3)

Wednesday, Jan. 4

@ UNLV

9 p.m. (CBSSN)

Saturday, Jan. 7

vs. San Diego State

9:15 p.m. (ESPN2 or ESPNU)

Saturday, Jan. 14

@ Fresno State

5 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 17

vs. New Mexico

TBA (ESPNU or ESPN3)

Saturday, Jan. 21

@ San Jose State

3 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 25

vs. Nevada

8 p.m. (CBSSN)

Saturday, Jan. 28

@ Wyoming

4 p.m. (Root)

Tuesday, Jan. 31

@ Colorado State

7 p.m. (ESPN3)

Saturday, Feb. 4

vs. Utah State

6 p.m. (ESPN3)

Saturday, Feb. 11

vs. Air Force

4 p.m. (Root)

Tuesday, Feb. 14

@ New Mexico

8 p.m. (CBSSN)

Saturday, Feb. 18

vs. Wyoming

4 p.m. (Root)

Wednesday, Feb. 22

@ Nevada

8 p.m. (ESPN3)

Saturday, Feb. 25

vs. San Jose State

2 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 28

vs. Fresno State

TBA (CBSSN)

Saturday, March 4

@ Air Force

2 p.m. (Root)

Wednesday, March 8-Saturday, March 11

Mountain West Tournament (Las Vegas)

TBA

Boise State men's coach Leon Rice discusses his path to Boise State, his family and the beauty of basketball's ability to bring both together.

MOUNTAIN WEST: PREDICTED ORDER OF FINISH

FROM MOUNTAIN WEST MEDIA DAYS

1. San Diego State

2. Nevada

3. New Mexico

4. Fresno State

5. Boise State

6. Utah State

7. Colorado State

8. UNLV

9. Air Force

10. Wyoming

11. San Jose State

TOO-EARLY NCAA TOURNAMENT PREDICTIONS

▪ Locks: San Diego State

▪ Bubbles: Nevada, New Mexico

▪ Work-to-do: Boise State, Fresno State, Utah State

▪ Doubtful: UNLV, San Jose State

A complete breakdown of 2016 Mountain West media days, the full predicted order of finish and the preseason all-conference teams can be found here and here.

TICKETS

Single-game tickets can be purchased at broncosports.com/tickets and start at $10 for adults. Season tickets are available for $199 and various seven-game mini plans are available for $98 as well.

PROMOTIONS

▪ Friday, Nov. 25 vs. Presbyterian: Black Friday ticket sales and ticket vouchers at select Taco Bell Locations.

▪ Wednesday, Nov. 30 vs. SMU: Ford poster giveaway

▪ Saturday, Dec. 10 vs. Portland: Black Friday ticket deal (available Nov. 25 only)

▪ Sunday, Dec. 18 vs. Idaho State: Cyber Monday ticket deal (available Nov. 28 only); $6 doubleheader tickets to see both men and women’s games

▪ Saturday, Dec. 31 vs. Colorado State: Ticket vouchers at select Taco Bell locations; four tickets for $16; Ford poster giveaway

▪ Saturday, Jan. vs. San Diego State: Whiteout for fans

▪ Tuesday, Jan. 17 vs. New Mexico: Ford poster giveaway

▪ Wednesday, Jan. 25 vs. Nevada: Orange out for fans; BSU faculty and staff receive a pair of free tickets

▪ Saturday, Feb. 4 vs. Utah State: Youth sports night (discounts for certain teams); free attendance for campers who attended Boise State’s summer basketball camp; free postgame autographs

▪ Saturday, Feb. 11 vs. Air Force: Ford poster giveaway

▪ Saturday, Feb. 18 vs. Wyoming: Blue out for fans; Ford poster giveaway

▪ Tuesday, Feb. 28 vs. Fresno State: Senior Night

RADIO

▪ Games broadcast on KBOI 670 AM, with play-by-play announcer Bob Behler and color analyst Abe Jackson.

▪ Select games on KTIK 93.1 FM

▪ All audio is free at BroncoSports.com.

▪ Men’s coach Leon Rice and women’s coach Gordy Presnell appear on Inside Bronco Basketball Live at the RAM Stonehouse. Dates are Jan. 5, Jan 12, Jan. 19, Jan. 26, Feb. 2, Feb. 9, Feb. 16, Feb. 23. Show broadcast on KBOI 670 AM.

PARKING

Parking at the East Stadium Lot, the Alumni Center and Lincoln Garage can be purchased for $5 on a per-game basis. Parking at the West Stadium Lot is only available by permit.

MOUNTAIN WEST LINKS

Information on some of Boise State’s opponents can be found below at our sister sites:

Fresno State: The Fresno Bee

Related stories from Idaho Statesman

  Comments