Outdoors Blog

Olympic skiing star Mikaela Shiffrin to compete in Sun Valley

Winner Mikaela Shiffrin of the U.S. celebrates during the podium ceremony of the women’s slalom race at the FIS Alpine Ski World Cup in Crans-Montana, Switzerland, on Feb. 15, 2016.
Winner Mikaela Shiffrin of the U.S. celebrates during the podium ceremony of the women’s slalom race at the FIS Alpine Ski World Cup in Crans-Montana, Switzerland, on Feb. 15, 2016. AP

Mikaela Shiffrin — who was one of the American faces of the 2014 Winter Olympics as a teen sensation — will compete in the women’s slalom and giant slalom later this month in Sun Valley, the U.S. Ski Team announced Thursday.

Shiffrin became the youngest slalom gold medalist in Olympics history in 2014, when she was 18. She also won world championships in the event in 2013 and 2015 and had won the past three World Cup slalom season championships until a knee injury prevented her from extending the streak this season.

The U.S. Alpine Championships are March 22-27 in Sun Valley. Shiffrin, who was injured in December and missed two months, won a World Cup race by 2.36 seconds on Sunday. She hasn’t lost a slalom race in more than a year and set a World Cup record earlier this season with a 3.07-second win.

She’ll be 21 when she competes in Sun Valley. She’ll race in the slalom on March 25 and the giant slalom on March 27. She is from Colorado.

“Mikaela is really good at the moment,” Wendy Holdener of Switzerland told The Associated Press after finishing second last weekend. “She skis better than us. We have to push hard so we can get to her level.”

Nina O’Brien is the defending U.S. champion in the giant slalom and is in the field.

On the men’s side, the biggest name is three-time Olympian Steven Nyman. He will compete in the alpine combined, super G, slalom and giant slalom.

Two American stars will be absent because of injuries: Lindsey Vonn (knee) and Ted Ligety (torn ACL).

Two former members of the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation are in the event: Kipling Weisel and Tanner Farrow. They are entered in all four men’s events.

The schedule features the men’s alpine combined March 22, the women’s alpine combined March 23, both super G races March 24, both slalom races March 25, the men’s giant slalom March 26 and the women’s giant slalom March 27.

Admission is free, or you can buy a lift ticket to ski up to the courses for a closer look (except for super G). The ski area is open throughout the event.

The downhill races are held a different week in Colorado.

Sun Valley is hosting the national championships for the first time since 1977. The event returns in 2018, after the Olympics.



Michael Ankeny – AC, SG, SL, GS

Erik Arvidsson – AC, SG, SL, GS

Bryce Bennett – AC, SG, SL, GS

Thomas Biesemeyer – AC, SG, GS

David Chodounsky – AC, SG, SL, GS*

Kieffer Christianson – AC, SG, SL, GS

Ryan Cochran-Siegle – AC, SG, GS

Drew Duffy – AC, SG, SL, GS*

Sam Dupratt – AC, SG, SL, GS

Mark Engel – AC, SG, SL, GS

Tanner Farrow – AC, SG, SL, GS

Tommy Ford – AC, SG, SL, GS

AJ Ginnis – SL, GS

Tim Jitloff – AC, SG, SL, GS*

Tim Kelley – SL

Patrick Kenney – AC, SG, SL, GS

Nicholas Krause – AC, SG, SL, GS

Sam Morse – AC, SG, SL, GS

Steven Nyman – AC, SG, SL, GS

River Radamus – AC, SG, SL, GS

Hig Roberts – AC, SG, SL, GS

Brennan Rubie – AC, SG, SL, GS

Marco Sullivan – AC, SG, GS

Sandy Vietze – AC, SG, SL, GS

Kipling Weisel – AC, SG, SL, GS


Stacey Cook – AC, SG

Breezy Johnson – AC, SG, SL, GS

Lila Lapanja – SL, GS

Stephanie Lebby – AC, SG, SL, GS

Patricia Mangan – AC, SG, SL, GS

Anna Marno – AC, SG, SL, GS

Alice Merryweather – AC, SG, SL, GS

Paula Moltzan – AC, SG, SL, GS

Nina O’Brien – AC, SG, SL, GS*

Laurenne Ross – AC, SG

Mikaela Shiffrin – SL*, GS

Resi Stiegler – SL, GS

Galena Wardle – AC, SG, SL, GS

Jackie Wiles – AC, SG, SL, GS

*defending 2015 National Champion