Columns & Blogs

Boise State football games with Fresno State, BYU moved to Fridays

Boise State vs. BYU Friday Oct. 15, 2013 at LaVell Edwards Stadium in Provo, Utah.
Boise State vs. BYU Friday Oct. 15, 2013 at LaVell Edwards Stadium in Provo, Utah. doswald@idahostatesman.com

Boise State's home football games against Fresno State and BYU have been moved to Friday nights, the Mountain West announced Thursday.

Boise State will host defending Mountain West champion Fresno State on Friday, Oct. 17 at 6 p.m. The game will be televised on ESPN.

The Broncos will host non-conference rival BYU on Friday, Oct. 24 at 7 p.m. The game will be televised on ESPN or ESPN2.

Both games will deliver a $300,000 bonus to Boise State via the Mountain West's national television bonus system.

CBS Sports Network and ESPN, the Mountain West's television partners, are expected to announce the rest of the national broadcast schedule in the next few weeks. All remaining Mountain West-controlled games (games played at Mountain West home stadiums) are expected to be played on Saturday, Boise State announced.

Boise State is 35-6 all-time in non-Saturday games during the regular season and 74-16 on national television since 1996.

2014 Boise State football schedule

DATE DAY OPPONENT SITE TV TIME (MT)

Thurs., Aug. 28 vs. Ole Miss (Atlanta, Ga.) TBA

Sat., Sept. 6 vs. Colorado State (Boise) TBA

Sat., Sept. 13 at Connecticut (East Hartford) TBA

Sat., Sept. 20 vs. Louisiana (Boise) TBA

Sat., Sept. 27 at Air Force (Colorado Springs) TBA

Sat., Oct. 4 at Nevada (Reno) TBA

Fri., Oct. 17 vs. Fresno State (Boise), 6 p.m. (ESPN)

Fri., Oct. 24 vs. BYU (Boise), 7 p.m. (ESPN or ESPN2)

Sat., Nov. 8 at New Mexico (Albuquerque) TBA

Sat., Nov. 15 vs. San Diego State (Boise) TBA

Sat., Nov. 22 @ Wyoming (Laramie) TBA

Sat., Nov. 29 vs. Utah State (Boise) TBA

  Comments