Varsity Extra

Idaho prep distance runners invited to Prefontaine Classic

Rocky Mountain’s Michael Slagowski and 2015 Pocatello graduate Elijah Armstrong are among 11 athletes invited to compete in the boys mile Friday at Hayward Field. Both runners swept the 800, 1,600 and 3,200 meters in their respective classifications at the Idaho state track and field meet two weeks ago. This will be the second time this season they have raced against each other in the mile. Slagowski edged Armstrong at the Nike Jesuit Twilight Relays with a time of 4 minutes, 9.17 seconds. The Prefontaine Classic field features some of the top prep milers in the country this season. A strong performance in the race could gain them an invitation to the adidas Dream Mile on June 13 at Icahn Stadium on Randall’s Island in New York City.



The Rocky Mountain Section PGA Foundation named its 2015 $1,000 college scholarship award winners. Among the 15 winners are five golfers from the Treasure Valley: Calvin Burton (Boise), Graysen Huff (Eagle), Ashlee Huggins (Weiser), Matthew Hurd (Weiser) and Natalie Mullins (Eagle).



The 5A state champion Mustangs (30-1) moved up one spot to No. 17 in the CBS MaxPreps Xcellent 25 rankings released Wednesday.