Bronco Beat

Sperbeck named Boise State football team’s MVP

Boise State junior wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck was named team MVP at the annual football banquet Sunday.

Sophomore tailback Jeremy McNichols was named offensive MVP and senior safety Darian Thompson was named defensive MVP. Thompson won for the second straight year.

Junior linebacker Darren Lee was named the Special Teams Player of the Year. The top linemen were repeats from last year: senior center Marcus Henry and junior defensive end Kamalei Correa.

The top scout team performers were tailback Ryan Wolpin (offense), linebacker Marquis Hendrix (defense) and safety Evan Tyler (special teams).

Complete list of award winners:

Academic Achievement - Mason Hampton

Valor Award - Justin Taimatuia

Plow Horse (Strength Award) - Tyler Horn

Special Teams Scout - Evan Tyler

Offensive Scout - Ryan Wolpin

Defensive Scout - Marquis Hendrix

Special Teams MVP - Darren Lee

Outstanding Offensive Lineman - Marcus Henry

Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Kamalei Correa

Defensive MVP - Darian Thompson

Offensive MVP - Jeremy McNichols

Team MVP - Thomas Sperbeck