Bronco Beat

Boise State football named Mountain Division favorite at MW media preview

Jay Ajayi’s 18 TDs last season rank third on the Broncos’ all-time single-season list and tied for eighth-nationally.
Jay Ajayi’s 18 TDs last season rank third on the Broncos’ all-time single-season list and tied for eighth-nationally.

LAS VEGAS — Mountain West media members picked the Boise State football team as the favorite to win the Mountain Division in a poll released Tuesday morning at the league’s media preview.

The Broncos received 20 first-place votes and 183 points. Utah State, the defending division champion, received 12 first-place votes and 176 points. Colorado State also received a first-place vote and finished third.

In the West Division, defending conference champion Fresno State edged San Diego State with 15 first-place votes and 174 points. San Diego State also received 15 first-place votes but had 172 points. Nevada was third with three first-place votes.

The preseason players of the year are Utah State quarterback Chuckie Keeton, Fresno State safety Derron Smith and New Mexico kickoff returner Carlos Wiggins.

Boise State players on the All-Mountain West team: wide receiver Matt Miller, tailback Jay Ajayi, cornerback Donte Deayon and safety Jeremy Ioane.

Of the past six teams chosen to win a Mountain West division or conference, four finished first and two finished second. The two second-place finishers: Boise State in 2011 in the conference and 2013 in the division.


1. Boise State (20 first-place votes), 183

2. Utah State (12), 176

3. Colorado State (1), 135

4. Wyoming, 90

5. New Mexico, 56

6. Air Force, 53


1. Fresno State (15), 174

2. San Diego State (15), 172

3. Nevada (3), 130

4. UNLV, 95

5. San Jose State, 87

6. Hawaii, 35



QB: Chuckie Keeton, Sr., Utah State

WR: Matt Miller, Sr., Boise State

WR: Devante Davis**, Sr., UNLV

RB: Jay Ajayi*, Jr., Boise State

RB: Donnel Pumphrey, So., San Diego State

OL: Ty Sambrailo**, Sr., Colorado State

OL: Cody Wichmann, Sr., Fresno State

OL: LaMar Bratton, Sr., New Mexico

OL: Brett Boyko**, Sr., UNLV

OL: Robert Waterman, Sr., UNLV

TE: Kivon Cartwright, Sr., Colorado State


DL: Tyeler Davison**, Sr., Fresno State

DL: Brock Hekking*, Sr., Nevada

DL: B.J. Larsen**, Sr., Utah State

DL: Eddie Yarbrough*, Jr., Wyoming

LB: Ejiro Ederaine**, Jr., Fresno State

LB: Kyler Fackrell**, Jr., Utah State

LB: Zach Vigil**, Sr., Utah State

DB: Donte Deayon**, Jr., Boise State

DB: Jeremy Ioane**, Sr., Boise State

DB: Derron Smith*, Sr., Fresno State

DB: J.J. Whittaker, Sr., San Diego State


P: Garrett Swanson, Jr., Fresno State

K: Jared Roberts*, Sr., Colorado State

Ret: Carlos Wiggins*, Jr., New Mexico

*member of 2013 All-Mountain West first team

**member of 2013 All-Mountain West second team


Offense: Chuckie Keeton, Sr., QB, Utah State

Defense: Derron Smith, Sr., DB, Fresno State

Special teams: Carlos Wiggins, Jr., KR, New Mexico

I will be hosting a live chat at 1 p.m. MT. Miller joins at 1:05 p.m. and safety Corey Bell joins at 1:20 p.m. You can sign up for a reminder below.

Live Blog Boise State football players live chat

Updating my Monday post on Derrick Thomas and Prince Amadi, Thomas was dismissed and Amadi left for personal reasons. Full post here.

Also, here is Boise State’s preseason depth chart.

Email me at

Read our coverage on your iPhone or Android phone.