Bronco Beat

Wilson is Boise State football’s team MVP; check out the Broncos’ other awards

With 1,290 receiving yards this season that are second-most in a single season in Boise State history, senior wide receiver Cedrick Wilson earn team Most Valuable Player honors Sunday.

At the Broncos’ season-ending football banquet, the team handed out its usual gaggle of honors. Junior linebacker Leighton Vander Esch was named defensive MVP, sophomore running back Alexander Mattison was offensive MVP and redshirt freshman Avery Williams was special teams MVP.

Senior tight end Jake Roh was given the first-ever Lyle Smith “Bleed Blue” Award, named for the late Boise Junior College coach, for the player “who best represents the legacy of legendary coach Lyle Smith, embodying all the qualities of a true Bronco.”

The scout team players of the year were Daniel Cantrell (offense), Tyreque Jones (defense) and Roman Kafentzis (special teams). Cantrell is a Bishop Kelly High grad who is listed as a long snapper but has worked at multiple spots for the Broncos.


Team Most Valuable Player: Cedrick Wilson (WR, Sr.)

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Alexander Mattison (RB, So.)

Most Valuable Defensive Player: Leighton Vander Esch (LB, Jr.)

Lyle Smith “Bleed Blue” Award: Jake Roh (TE, Sr.)

Outstanding Offensive Lineman Award: Mason Hampton (OL, Sr.)

Outstanding Defensive Lineman Award: Sonatane Lui (NT, So.)

Special Teams Most Valuable Player of the Year: Avery Williams (CB, RFr.)

Hammer Award (most unselfish special teams player): Brock Barr (WR/LS, Sr.)

Academic Honors & Academic Achievement Award: Mason Hampton (OL, Sr.)

Plow Horse Award (Strength Award): Ryan Wolpin (RB, Sr.)

Denny Erickson Valor Award: Gabe Perez (LB, Sr.)

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Daniel Cantrell (LS, Fr.)

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Tyreque Jones (S, Fr.)

Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year: Roman Kafentzis (SLB, Fr.)