Bronco Beat

Boise State’s 1-2 punch in the passing game earns more accolades


The Boise State football team will have one of the deadliest passing batteries in the Mountain West, and the duo was recognized by a pair of national award watchlists Tuesday.

Junior quarterback Brett Rypien was among 108 players on the Wuerffel Trophy watchlist, an honor which recognizes the player “that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.” He also is on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team watchlist and the Maxwell Award watchlist, honoring the nation’s best offensive player.

Rypien’s likely No. 1 target this fall, senior wide receiver Cedrick Wilson, was named to the Biletnikoff Award watchlist, which honors the nation’s best receiver. Last season in his debut with the Broncos, Wilson led the team with 11 touchdown catches on 56 receptions for 1,129 yards. He also was named to the Paul Hornung Award watchlist Monday.

Boise State football watchlists

Center Mason Hampton: Rimington Trophy (top center)

Offensive tackle Archie Lewis: Outland Trophy (top interior lineman)

Defensive tackle David Moa: Bednarik Award (top defensive player); Nagurski Trophy (top defensive player); Outland Trophy

Tight end Jake Roh: Mackey Award (top tight end)

Quarterback Brett Rypien: Maxwell Award (top offensive player); Allstate AFCA Good Works Team; Wuerffel Trophy (community service, athletics, academic achievement)

Wide receiver Cedrick Wilson: Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player); Biletnikoff Award (top receiver)