Bronco Beat

Boise State assistant and Capital High grad on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Boise State cornerbacks coach Ashley Ambrose is on the ballot for the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame class, while Capital High grad and former Arizona State quarterback Jake Plummer is on it for a second straight year.

Ambrose is one of 98 players and 31 coaches from the non-Football Bowl Subdivision ranks. He starred as a defensive back at Mississippi Valley State, earning a first-team All-America selection in 1991. He played 12 NFL seasons for the Colts, Bengals, Saints and Falcons. Plummer was a first-team All-American in 1996, leading the Sun Devils to the Rose Bowl. He is hosting a skills camp in Boise on Saturday.

The announcement of the 2018 class will be made Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta. To earn consideration for a nomination, players must have received at least one first-team All-America award from The Associated Press, American Football Coaches Association, Football Writers Association of America, Sporting News or Walter Camp Football Foundation in their playing careers, and must have finished playing at least 10 full seasons prior (and be done playing professionally, too). Two first-time eligible players are on the latest ballot: linebacker Patrick Willis (Ole Miss) and wide receiver Calvin Johnson (Georgia Tech), who last played collegiately in 2006.

So, yes, quarterback Kellen Moore (a 2010 FWAA first-team All-American) likely will be a nominee, but he will have to wait until at least five years from now. He certainly could join Randy Trautman as Boise State Broncos in the hall in the 2023 induction class.

“They shouldn’t have a College Football Hall of Fame if Kellen Moore is not in it,” ESPN’s Joe Tessitore told the Idaho Statesman in 2011.

Another Bronco who could get consideration: Offensive tackle Ryan Clady made the AFCA and Sporting News first teams in 2007 and was named a consensus All-American. He became an NFL first-round draft pick and two-time All-Pro. The other recent player who will be eligible is offensive tackle Nate Potter, who made the Sporting News and FWAA first teams in 2011 and also was a consensus All-American.