Bronco Beat

A daytime kickoff for Boise State football’s opener? Better believe it

Boise State football coach Bryan Harsin updates spring ball, talks schedule

Boise State football coach Bryan Harsin met with the media April 4, 2017 following practice to update the Broncos' spring work, talk scheduling and more.
Up Next
Boise State football coach Bryan Harsin met with the media April 4, 2017 following practice to update the Broncos' spring work, talk scheduling and more.

The rarest of occasions at Albertsons Stadium will occur with the 2017 season opener — a real, live daytime kickoff.

Boise State will host its first football game during the daylight hours in four years on Saturday, Sept. 2 against Troy, the Broncos announced Wednesday. The game will have a 1:45 p.m. start, televised on ESPNU. The last home game that started before 6 p.m. was Sept. 7, 2013, against Tennessee Martin.

Also on Wednesday, it was announced the Broncos’ Sept. 9 road game at Washington State will get an 8:30 p.m. MT kickoff, televised on ESPN, ESPN2 or ESPNU.

“We have half our kick times for 2017 home games already set, and none start later than 6 p.m.,” Boise State Athletic Director Curt Apsey said in a statement. “Game times are obviously something we have been hearing a lot about from our fans, so I am hopeful that we will see a packed stadium starting with Troy to kick off the season.”

Boise State 2017 football schedule

Saturday, Sept. 2: vs. Troy (1:45 p.m., ESPNU)

Saturday, Sept. 9: at Washington State (8:30 p.m., ESPN or ESPN2 or ESPNU)

Thursday, Sept. 14: vs. New Mexico (6 p.m., ESPN)

Friday, Sept. 22: vs. Virginia (6 p.m., ESPN or ESPN2)

Friday, Oct. 6: at BYU (8:15 p.m., ESPN)

Saturday, Oct. 14: at San Diego State (8:30 p.m., CBS Sports Network)

Saturday, Oct. 21: vs. Wyoming (TBA, ESPN networks)

Saturday, Oct. 28: at Utah State (8 p.m., CBS Sports Network)

Saturday, Nov. 4: vs. Nevada (TBA, ESPN networks)

Saturday, Nov. 11: at Colorado State (8:30 p.m., CBS Sports Network)

Saturday, Nov. 18: vs. Air Force (TBA, ESPN networks)

Saturday, Nov. 25: at Fresno State (1:30 p.m., CBS Sports Network)

  Comments