Bronco Beat

Boise State football announces team awards: McNichols is Broncos’ MVP

The Boise State football team announced its annual team awards at its football banquet Sunday. Not surprisingly, junior running back Jeremy McNichols was named the team’s MVP. His 1,663 rushing yards are third-most in a single season in Boise State history, as are his 27 total touchdowns.

Also honored were the scout team players of the year, always an interesting look at who the next wave of stars may be among the redshirts. Offensive lineman Ezra Cleveland (Spanaway, Wash.) was the offensive scout team player of the year, outside linebacker Desmond Williams (Corona, Calif.) was the defensive scout team player of the year, and walk-on cornerback Avery Williams (Pasadena, Calif.) was the scout special teams player of the year.

Check out the full list below, and an interview with defensive MVP Ben Weaver above.

Team MVP

Jeremy McNichols (RB, Jr.)

Offensive MVP

Cedrick Wilson (WR, Jr.)

Defensive MVP

Ben Weaver (WLB, Sr.)

Specials Teams MVP

Sean Wale (P, R-Sr.)

Offensive Line MVP

Travis Averill (OL, R-Sr.)

Defensive Line MVP

David Moa (NT, R-So.)

Academic Achievement

Steve Baggett (OL, R-Sr.)

Plow Horse (Weight Room)

Sam McCaskill (DE, R-Sr.)

Valor Award

Darren Lee (MLB, Sr.)

Hammer Award

Jake Knight (TE, R-So.)

Scout Offensive POY

Ezra Cleveland (OL, Fr.)

Scout Defensive POY

Desmond Williams (SLB, Fr.)

Scout Special Teams POY

Avery Williams (CB, Fr.)

Career Receiving Yards Game Ball

Thomas Sperbeck (WR, Sr.)