Boise State Football

Boise State bobblehead choice is a little different this year

Coach Lyle Smith with his signature fedora and clipboard.
Coach Lyle Smith with his signature fedora and clipboard.

The godfather of Bronco football turned 100 this year.

A statue honoring Lyle Smith was unveiled last week outside Albertsons Stadium, and fans can pick up the legendary coach’s bobblehead at Jacksons stores around the Treasure Valley starting at 6 a.m. Wednesday.

Since 2006, Jacksons has released three to five Bronco bobbleheads each football season — usually players, but sometimes coaches and/or Buster Bronco. The Smith bobblehead is the 40th released.

Fans stood in long lines to get the Kellen Moore bobblehead in 2012. Last year’s three bobbles — running back Jay Ajayi, quarterback Grant Hedrick and wide receiver Matt Miller — were all snapped up quickly.

So why just one bobblehead this year?

“We decided to really focus on Lyle Smith and let that bobblehead shine,” said Katrina Lemmon, Jacksons advertising and promotions manager.

They also decided to introduce a new item: Boise State tumblers. The black tumblers feature the words of the university’s fight song.

The Lyle Smith bobblehead is $8 with purchase of two 20-ounce Coke products. Otherwise, they’re $12 each.

The tumblers are $3 with purchase of two 20-ounce Coke products. They’re $6 without the soft drink purchase.

In 2012, Jacksons began releasing bobbleheads for other university football teams where it has stores, starting with Oregon State mascot Benny Beaver and Nevada mascot Wolfie Jr.

This year, they’re releasing a Bralon Addison bobblehead and tumbler for Oregon fans. Tumblers will also be available for Oregon State fans. Sorry Idaho Vandals fans, no bobbleheads or tumblers for you this year.

“We do not have a store in Moscow,” Lemmon said.

Katy Moeller: 208-377-6413, @KatyMoeller

Got them all?

Here’s the full list of Bronco bobbleheads released:

2006: Daryn Colledge, Ryan Dinwiddie, Brock Forsey, Jeb Putzier

2007: Gerald Alexander, Korey Hall, Chris Petersen, Jared Zabransky

2008: Ryan Clady, Chris Carr, Quintin Mikell, Legedu Naanee

2009: Vinny Perretta, Jerard Rabb, Ian Johnson, Alex Guerrero

2010: Kyle Wilson, Richie Brockel, coach Chris Petersen

2011: Buster Bronco, Ryan Winterswyk, Titus Young, Austin Pettis

2012: Billy Winn, Tyler Shoemaker, Kellen Moore, George Iloka, Doug Martin

2013: Jamar Taylor, Buster Bronco, Shea McClellin, D.J. Harper

2014: Kirby Moore, Matt Paradis, Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe, coach Bryan Harsin

2015: Grant Hedrick, Jay Ajayi, Matt Miller

2016: Coach Lyle Smith