NBA Draft: Ex-Bronco Webb doesn’t get picked

Boise State’s NBA Draft drought continues after forward James Webb III, who opted to leave school before his senior season, went undrafted Thursday.

Webb was considered a fringe prospect, but was listed among ESPN’s Jay Bilas’ top six available when the final of 60 picks were made. The Broncos have had just one player drafted since 1984 (Roberto Bergersen, 1999).

Though he was not picked, Webb likely will be a sought-after commodity to play on an NBA team’s summer league roster with the hopes of getting a free-agent deal.

Two Mountain West players were selected, both from UNLV: Patrick McCaw (second round, 38th overall) and Stephen Zimmerman (second round, 41st overall).


Former Boise State guard Mikey Thompson will begin his professional basketball career in Slovakia after it was announced Wednesday he has signed with MBK Banik Handlova.

Thompson’s future team finished fourth in Slovakia’s top league in 2014-15 and did not compete last season while its home arena underwent major renovations. Last season, Thompson was named third-team All-Mountain West, averaging 11.9 points and 3.8 assists per game as a senior, and in the process became the 26th player in school history to notch 1,000 career points.

In May, Thompson played with the NetScouts Basketball USA All-Stars team in China as part of the Four Nations Tournament. Team USA won the title, going 6-2. Thompson averaged 5.0 points and 2.1 assists during the tournament.


Boise State also announced Wednesday that forward David Wacker has obtained a medical redshirt after suffering a season-ending foot injury Dec. 3. He played in seven games off the bench, averaging 11.4 minutes, 3.7 points and 2.9 rebounds per game. The 6-foot-10 Wacker will be a redshirt sophomore in 2016-17 and be part of a lineup that includes three players 6-10 or taller, along with sophomores Zach Haney and Robin Jorch.



1999: Roberto Bergersen, Atlanta (second round; 52nd overall)

1984: Vince Hinchen, Cleveland (fifth round; 96th overall)

1981: Larry McKinney, Indiana (seventh round; 152nd overall)

1978: Steve Connor, Washington (10th round; 197th overall)

1974: Clyde Dickey, Phoenix (seventh round; 112th overall)

1970: Bill Otey, Chicago (15th round; 220th overall)