Sun Valley Film Festival announces its awards for 2015, including two to Idaho filmmakers

The Sun Valley Film Festival wrapped up last week with a record pass and ticket sales. About 4,000 people showed up to celebrated film and Lifetime Vision Award winner Clint Eastwood.

Other stars on had for discussions and screenings included Bruce Dern and Bill Paxton.

The Vision Award that is give to a film’s producers went to “Finders Keepers,” producers Seth Gordon, Lauren Selig and Clay Tweel.

The One In A Million Award for the best feature under a million dollars also went to the documentary “Finders Keepers,” and the narrative features “The Midnight Swim” by Sarah Adina Smith and “Imperial Dreams” by Malik Vitthal. The Audience Award was given to “Land of Leopold by Akis Konstantakopoulus.

Shorty Award for best short film went to Chloe Okuno’s “Slut.”

The Gem State Award, given by Zions Bank with a $1,000 prize recognizes an Idaho filmmaker whose work best reflects the beauty and diversity of the Gem State. That went to the web series “Zero Point” by Boise filmmakers Gregory Bayne and Christian Lybrook.

The Gem State Junior Award, a $250 award for best short film made by an Idaho student 18 or younger went to Mountain View High School student Taylor Foetster for “Metanoia.”

The Hot Shot Award for best overall student film and a $500 reward from the Marshall Frankel Foundation went to California student filmmaker Sarah Lew for “Dear Family.”

Actor Joshua Leonard, producer and director Heather Rae, film critics Sharon Swart and Katherine Tulrich, and producer Caspar von Winterfeld made up this year’s film jury. Actor and writer Will McCormack was the screenwriter mentor and judge for the 2015 High Scribe Award that went to Clark Carol for his screenplay "Early Plus Infinity” as part of the Screenwriter’s Lab.

The One Potato Winner for the best short screenplay and a $2500 stipend to go towards shooting a film in Idaho went to Boise filmmaker Christian Lybrook for “Bruneau.”

Nat Geo WILD TO INSPIRE Winner prize receives gives a filmmaker an opportunity to study film making and wildlife in the Maasai Steppe landscape in Tanzania, Africa with Emmy Award winning cinematographer, Bob Poole. The award went to Felipe DeAndrade for “Adapt.”