ArtsBeat

Theater, music, dance for the 2016-17 season for Treasure Valley groups

Ballet Idaho will perform artistic director Peter Anastos’ original ballet “Peter Pan,” with Peter, Captain Hook, Wendy and all the Lost Boys.
Ballet Idaho will perform artistic director Peter Anastos’ original ballet “Peter Pan,” with Peter, Captain Hook, Wendy and all the Lost Boys.

Here’s what the area’s professional dance, music and theater companies have planned the next several months.

Theater

Boise Contemporary Theater

The first Wednesday of each run is a “pay-what-you-can” preview. Opening nights are now on Fridays. Shows run Wednesdays to Saturdays, unless otherwise noted, at BCT, 854 Fulton St., Boise.

▪  “Hedwig and the Angry Inch,” book by John Cameron Mitchell, music and lyrics by Stephen Trask. Directed by Tracy Sunderland. Wednesdays to Saturdays, Oct. 5- 22.

▪  “A Nighttime Survival Guide,” written and directed by Dwayne Blackaller and Matthew Cameron Clark. Nov. 30-Dec. 17.

▪  “Where Did We Sit on the Bus?” written and performed by Brian Quijada, directed by Chay Yew. Friday, Jan. 13, to Saturday, Jan. 28, 2017. (Pay what you can previews are Jan. 7 and 11.)

▪  Pulitzer Prize finalist “The Clean House” by Sarah Ruhl, directed by Idaho Shakespeare Festival resident director Drew Barr. April 19-May 6, 2017.

Season tickets: $95-$135 general, $72 for previews, $60 for students. Box seats available. Single tickets: $16-34. BCTheater.org, 331-9224.

The Morrison Center

▪  “Beautiful — The Carole King Musical”: 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29-Thursday, Dec. 1, 8 p.m. Friday, Dec. 2, 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 3.

▪  “Once The Musical” is based on the Academy Award-winning film about the relationship between an Irish street musician and an immigrant woman who share a connection through music. 8 p.m. Friday, Jan. 20, 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 21.

▪  “Dirty Dancing: The Classic Story on Stage” brings the 1987 Oscar-winning film to the stage. 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, March 4, 2017, 1 and 6:30 p.m. Sunday, March 5, 2017.

▪  “Rogers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella,” 8 p.m. Friday, May 5, 2017, 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, May 6, 2017.

▪  Andrew Lloyd Webber’s “The Phantom of the Opera” revival tour will play 16 performances in Boise. 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, June 14, and Tuesday, June 20, to Thursday, June 22, 2017; 2 and 7:30 p.m. Thursday, June 15, 2017; 8 p.m. Fridays, June 16 and 23, 2017, 2 and 8 p.m. Saturdays, June 17 and 24, 2017, 1 and 6:30 p.m. Sundays, June 18 and June 25, 2017.

Season Extras

▪  “Cirque Dreams Holidaze,” 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, Dec. 20.

▪  BodyTraffic, Los Angeles-based contemporary repertory dance company. 8 p.m. Friday, Jan. 27, 2017, Morrison Center. $25-$40 at Ticketmaster.com.

▪  The Irish Rovers, 7:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 13, 2017.

Season tickets: $227, $273, $324, and $356.50 at MorrisonCenter.com. Individual tickets go on sale about six weeks prior to opening. Prices vary.

HomeGrown Theatre

▪  The “5th Annual Horrific Puppet Affair” features original short scary and creepy plays performed by local actors, playwrights and puppeteers. 8 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 20 (pay-what-you-can-preview) to Saturday, Oct. 22, and Wednesday, Oct. 26, to Saturday, Oct. 29 and Monday, Oct. 31; 10:15 p.m. Oct. 22 and 29. Tickets: $5 weeknights, $10 weekends at BrownPaperTickets.com.

▪  “You’re a Good Dude, Daggy Nichols,” by Boise playwrights Chad Ethan Shohet and Dakotah Brown, is a sequel to their local cult hit “Every Man Shift (For All the Rest),” about a Christmas reunion. December 2016, dates and venues TBA.

▪  “Geek!” by Crystal Skillman. May, 2016, dates and venues TBA.

Season passes: HGT Punch Card: 5 tickets to any show, any night, never expires: $40. Learn more on the company’s Facebook.com page.

Alley Repertory Theater

This season’s theme is “Kill All the Darlings.” Shows are at 7 p.m. Thursdays to Saturdays and 1 p.m. for matinees at the Visual Arts Collective, 3638 Osage St., Garden City. (Previews are pay what you can.)

▪  “The Totalitarians,” by Peter Sinn Nachtrieb, is a dark-satirical comic look at politics through the campaign of a former take-no-prisoners roller derby champion who runs for office. Oct. 13-28, (Matinee Oct. 23.)

▪  “Disenchanted!” by Dennis T. Giacino, features 10 charmingly flawed heroines from the tales of Grimm, Perrault and history who reclaim their identities from their Disneyized counterparts. Nov. 25-26, and Dec. 8-17, (Matinee Dec. 11).

▪  “Buyer & Cellar” by Jonathan Tolins is a fanciful tale about an ex-Disneyland cast member who is hired to work the secret shops in Barbra Streisand’s basement. Feb 23 to March 11, 2017 (Matinee March 5.)

Tickets packages: $130 for 10, $112 for eight, $90 for six. Single tickets: $20 general, $15 students at AlleyRep.org.

Classical music

Boise Philharmonic

Each concert features one of the seven candidates for the music director’s position. Concerts are at 8 p.m. with a pre-concert talk at 7 p.m. Friday nights are at Swayne Auditorium, 707 Fern St., at Northwest Nazarene University, Nampa. Saturday nights are at the Morrison Center in Boise unless otherwise noted.

▪  Conductor Aram Demirjian, pianist Andrew von Oeyen and Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1, Sept. 30-Oct. 1.

▪  Conductor Michelle Merrill, violinist Caroline Goulding and Beethoven’s Violin Concerto, Oct. 21-22.

▪  Keitaro Harada, pianist Kevin Cole and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue: Saturday, Nov. 12, at the Morrison Center, 3 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 13, at NNU.

▪  Holiday Pops with Troy Quinn (Not one of the candidates): Dec. 9-10.

▪  Alastair Willis, pianist Joachin Achúcarro and Grieg’s Piano Concerto: Jan. 27-28, 2017.

▪  Andrés Franco, cellist Edgar Moreau and Elgar’s Cello Concerto: Feb. 17-18, 2017.

▪  Eric Garcia, violinist David Kim and Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto: March 10-11, 2017

▪  Alexander Mickelthwait and the Boise Philharmonic Master Chorale, Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9: April 7-8, 2017.

Season tickets: $90-$459 in Boise, $81-$260 in Nampa; Single tickets: $24.50-$70.50 in Boise, $22.50-$45 in Nampa. 344-7849. BoisePhil.org.

Season extras

▪  Handel’s “Messiah,” with guest conductor Case Scaglione and the Boise Master Chorale, 8 p.m. Friday, Dec. 2 and Saturday, Dec. 3, St. John’s Cathedral, 775 N. 8th St., Boise. $25 in advance until Oct. 31; $35 at the door.

▪  “Silent Movies with Orchestra” and organist Ben Model, guest conductor Deanna Tham, 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 11, Egyptian Theatre, 700 W. Main St., Boise. $15 general, $20 reserved. ($5 more at the door).

Boise Baroque Chamber Orchestra

Performances are at 8 p.m. Fridays and 2 p.m. Sundays at the Cathedral of the Rockies, 11th and Hays streets, Boise.

▪  Oct. 7 and 9: Vivaldi and the Boise Philharmonic Master Chorale: Tartini Sinfonia in D; Handel’s “Royal Fireworks Music;” Thompson’s Alleluia; Vivaldi’s Gloria.

▪  Nov. 18 and 20: Mozart and More: Copland: Appalachian Spring Suit for Chamber Orchestra; Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Winds and Orchestra.

▪  Feb. 3 and 5: Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 3: Albinoni’s Concerto in A Major.

▪  March 3 and 5: Rachel Barton Pine: Locatelli’s Violin Concerto in D; Vivaldi’s Concerto for Viola d’amore; Beethoven’s Romance in G Major.

▪  April 29 and 30: The Genius of Haydn: Symphony No. 47 in G Major; “Mass in Time of War.”

Season tickets: $115 general, $95 for 62 and older; Single tickets: $23-$28 at BoiseBaroque.org; Free for 17 and younger with a paying adult. $10 rush tickets at the door for high school and college students with student ID.

208 Ensemble

▪  “Folk,” how American folk traditions influence contemporary composers. 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 19, Boise State University Hemingway Center, 1700 University Drive and 7 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 20, Esther Simplot Performing Arts Academy, 516 S. 9th St., Boise.

▪  “Past is Present,” contemporary chamber music inspired by Baroque and Renaissance music. 8 p.m. Friday, April 21, and Saturday, April 22, 2017 at Ming Studios, 420 S. 6th St., Boise.

▪  “Greatest Hits,” 8 p.m. Friday, June 16, 2017 and Saturday, June 17, 2017 at Ming Studios.

All tickets are $15 general, $10 students with ID, at the door. Learn more on the group’s Facebook.com page.

Opera Idaho

▪  “Die Fledermaus,” by Johann Strauss II, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Nov. 4 and 2:30 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 6, Egyptian Theatre, 700 W. Main St., Boise. $24-$72.

▪  “Tosca” by Giacomo Puccini, 7:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 24, and 2:30 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 26, Morrison Center. $25.50-$76.50.

▪  “Werther,” by Jules Massenet, 7:30 Friday, May 5, and 2:30 Sunday, May 7, Egyptian Theatre. $24-$72.

Season extra

▪  The Winterreise Project, collaboration with baritone Jason Detwiler and LED artistic director Lauren Edson. Location and ticket prices TBD.

Season tickets: $57-$4170 at OperaIdaho.org.

Dance

Ballet Idaho

▪  “NewDance, Up Close,” a program of original choreography by Ballet Idaho dancers and others. 8 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 10, and Friday, Nov. 11; 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 12; and 4 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 13. Esther Simplot Performing Arts Academy Annex, 501 S. 8th St., Boise. $20-$25.

▪  “The Nutcracker,” the holiday classical ballet performed with the Boise Philharmonic playing Tchaikovsky’s score. 8 p.m. Friday, Dec. 16; 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 17; noon and 4 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 18. Morrison Center, 2201 W. Cesar Chavez Drive, Boise. $30-$60.

▪  “Winter Repertory” will feature collaborations with local musicians and a new work from Ballet Idaho dancer and choreographer Daniel Ojeda. 8 p.m., Friday, Feb. 10, 2017, and Saturday, Feb. 11, 2017, Morrison Center. $15-$60.

▪  “NewDance, Up Close”: 8 p.m. Thursday, March 16 and Friday, March 17; 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, March 18; 4 p.m. Sunday, March 19. Esther Simplot Academy Annex. $20-$25.

▪  Peter Anastos’ “Peter Pan”: 8 p.m. Friday, April 21, 2017; 2 and 8 p.m., Saturday, April 22, 2017. Morrison Center. $30-$60.

Season tickets: $147-$250 (VIP parking pass: $60). All tickets: BalletIdaho.org.

Idaho Dance Theatre

▪  “Friends And Lovers,” 7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 17-19, 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 20, Boise State University, Special Events Centre.

▪  Spring Show, 7 p.m. Thursday, March 9-11, 2 p.m. Sunday, March 12, Special Events Centre.

Tickets: $30 preferred, $20 general, $10 for students and kids at IdahoDanceTheatre.org.

Caldwell Fine Arts

Performances are at Jewett Auditorium on the College of Idaho campus, 2112 Cleveland Blvd., Caldwell, unless otherwise noted.

▪  Mystical Arts of Tibet — Sacred Music, Sacred Dance, 7 p.m. Sept. 26-30. $20-$35 general, $10-$25 students.

▪  “Molly in the Mineshaft,” bluegrass, 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 15, $10-$20 general, $5-$10 students.

▪  Horszowski Trio, classical music, 7 p.m., Thursday, Nov. 3. $10-$20 general, $5-$10 students.

▪  “The Nutcracker,” Eugene Ballet, 7 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 6. $20-$30 general, $10-$20 students.

▪  “Nutcracker Jr.” 1 and 6 p.m., Wednesday, Dec. 7, $10-$15 general, $6-$10 students.

▪  “An Evening with C.S. Lewis,” 6 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 14, 2017. $10-$20 general, $5-$10 students.

▪  Rachel Barton Pine with Boise Baroque Chamber Orchestra, 7 p.m. Saturday, March 4. $20-$30 general, $10-20 students.

▪  The Young Irelanders, 7 p.m. Friday, March 31, 2017. $20-$30, $10-$20 students.

▪  “Women of the World,” vocal group. 7 p.m. Friday, April 28. $10-$20 general, $5-$10 students.

▪  “FOUR,” jazz, 7 p.m. Friday, May 12, 2017. $10-$20 general, $5-$10 students.

Nampa Civic Center

All shows are at 7 p.m. at the center, 311 3rd St., South, Nampa.

▪  The McManus Comedies “A Fine and Pleasant Misery,” Friday, Oct. 14.

▪  The Moscow Ballet’s touring production of “Swan Lake,” Tuesday, Nov. 8.

▪  Hotel California: A Salute to the Eagles, Thursday, Nov. 17.

▪  “American Idol” winner Taylor Hicks, Saturday, Jan. 14, 2017.

▪  Jazz/pop vocalist Alexis Cole performs “The Magic of Disney Love Songs,” Sunday, Feb. 12, 2017.

▪  Idaho pianist Sean Rogers, Friday, March 10, 2017.

▪  “The Art of the Love Song,” Annie Moses Band, Saturday, April 8, 2017.

Ticket packages: $140-$160 for any four shows; $295-$335 for seven. Single tickets: $26-$58 at NampaCivicCenter.com and 468-5555.

  Comments