Columnists

Columnists

LOCAL NEWS

DAN POPKEY

377-6438, dpopkey@idahostatesman.com
Dan Popkey has been with The Idaho Statesman since 1984. He's been a columnist since 1994, but also worked as a police reporter, covered Boise City Hall, the Statehouse and politics.

BUSINESS

DALE DIXON

947-2101, ddixon@boise.bbb.org
Dale Dixon is president and CEO of the Better Business Bureau, a not-for-profit organization serving Southwest Idaho and eastern Oregon.

ED LOTTERMAN

ed@edlotterman.com
Economist Edward Lotterman teaches and writes in St. Paul, Minn.

OPINION

KEVIN RICHERT

377-6437, krichert@idahostatesman.com | Blog: Commentary: Kevin Richert
Kevin Richert is the Statesman’s editorial page editor. He writes and reports Statesman editorials, writes a daily blog on Idaho politics and other state and local issues, and writes a twice-weekly column.

SPORTS

BRIAN MURPHY

377-6444, bmurphy@idahostatesman.com| Blog: Murph's Turf
Brian Murphy has been with The Idaho Statesman as a sports columnist since 2005. He graduated from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill, N.C. with degrees in journalism and history.

LIVING

TIM WOODWARD

377-6409, twoodward@idahostatesman.com
Tim Woodward has been with the Idaho Statesman since 1971 and a columnist since 1975.

KATHERINE JONES

377-6414, kjones@idahostatesman.com
Photojournalist Katherine Jones interviews our friends and neighbors -- who turn out to be sages and wisdom-keepers, teachers and observers, fellow pilgrims and muses.

ANNA WEBB

377-6431, awebb@idahostatesman.com
Anna Webb writes about all things local and non-profit: volunteer opportunities, events and news.

MARGARET LAUTERBACH

melauter@earthlink.net
Margaret McCutcheon Lauterbach learned to love gardening at the side of her grandmothers in the Ft. Morgan, Colo., area, and has gardened in Boise for 36 years.

CAROLYN HAX

tellme@washpost.com
Carolyn Hax is a 40-something repatriated New Englander with a liberal arts degree and a lot of opinions and that’s about it, really, when you get right down to it. Oh, and the shoes. A lot of shoes.

THE YOU DOCS

The You Docs — Mike Roizen and Mehmet Oz — are authors of the best-selling “You: The Owner’s Manual” and “You: On a Diet.”

OUTDOORS

PETE ZIMOWSKY

377-6445, pzimowsky@idahostatesman.com | Blog: Into the Outdoors
Pete Zimowsky has been covering the outdoors for the Idaho Statesman for about 34 years writing about skiing, kayaking, hiking, backpacking, hunting, camping and fishing.

ROGER PHILLIPS

377-6445, rphillips@idahostatesman.com | Blog: Into the Outdoors
Roger Phillips has written for the Idaho Statesman since 2000, covering all facets of outdoor recreation, as well as resource management and conservation issues.

ENTERTAINMENT

MICHAEL DEEDS

377-6442, mdeeds@idahostatesman.com | Blog: Words & Deeds
Michael Deeds is the Scene Editor and Entertainment Columnist. He also co-hosts "The Other Studio" Sundays on 94.9 FM "The River," appears on Channel 6 News on Thursdays and freelances for The Washington Post maybe once a month.

PATRICK ORR

373-6619, porr@idahostatesman.com | Blog: The Beer Nut
Patrick Orr is a Statesman reporter and beer enthusiast. He was introduced to craft beers in the late 1980's and has been a beer enthusiast ever since.

DANA OLAND

377-6442, doland@idahostatesman.com
Dana Oland is a former professional dancer and award winning journalist who covers visual and performing arts for the Idaho Statesman. She has been with the Idaho Statesman since 1996 and covering the arts since 2000.