British Open at a glance.

The Associated PressJuly 16, 2014 

— Facts and figures for the British Open golf championship, which starts Thursday:

Event: 143rd British Open

Site: Royal Liverpool Golf Club

Length: 7,312 yards

Par: 35-37-72

Field: 156 (152 professionals, 4 amateurs)

Prize money: 5.4 million pounds ($9.24 million)

Winner's share: 975,000 pounds ($1.67 million)

Defending champion: Phil Mickelson

Open champions at Royal Liverpool: Tiger Woods (2006), Roberto De Vicenzo (1967), Peter Thomson (1956), Fred Daly (1947), Alfred Padgham (1936), Bobby Jones (1930), Walter Hagen (1924), John H. Taylor (1913), Arnaud Massy (1907), Sandy Herd (1902), Harold Hilton (1897).

The course: Royal Liverpool was brown, fast and fiery in 2006 when Tiger Woods won by two shots. With a wet spring and occasional rain in recent weeks, it is green, not as fast and has thicker rough.

Tiger Tales: Tiger Woods is playing his first major of the season after having back surgery on March 31.

Tee times (all times EDT): 4:04 a.m. — Tiger Woods, Angel Cabrera, Henrik Stenson. 9:05 a.m. — Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els, Bubba Watson.

Television (all times EDT): Thursday, 4 a.m. to 3 p.m., ESPN.

Idaho Statesman is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service