New mayor takes the helm in Nampa

The city also seats four new council members as a fresh era commences.

cmsewell@idahostatesman.comJanuary 7, 2014 

mayor, nampa,

After the official ceremony where Nampa Mayor Bob Henry was sworn in on Monday night, custodian Jayne Elliott presented him with a sign she had made.


Monday was the first meeting of Nampa's newly expanded City Council and its first under a new mayor in 12 years.

Changing seats: Bob Henry started out the meeting as a City Council member and ended it as mayor, replacing Tom Dale, whom he beat in the November election.

Four new faces: Voters last year approved adding two seats to the council. Incumbent Martin Thorne did not seek re-election and Henry’s seat opened up when he became mayor.

To fill the council seat he vacated, Henry selected and the council approved David Bills.

“He is a builder and developer and a fiscal conservative. He has a laundry list of ways we can improve things by finding efficiencies and finding new ways to do business in Nampa,” said Henry.

The newly elected council members are Paul Raymond, Randy Haverfield and Bruce Skaug. Returning to the dais are council members Pam White, who was re-elected, and Stephen Kren, whose seat was not up for election.

Urban renewal board: The council Monday night approved appointing council members Randy Haverfield and Paul Raymond to the urban renewal board replacing council members Martin Thorne and Pam White.

Stay tuned: Later this month, the city will announce a new name and sponsor for the Idaho Center. “We are really, really happy about this,” Henry said.

Cynthia Sewell: 377-6428, Twitter: @CynthiaSewell

Idaho Statesman is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service