In new year, cities welcome new leaders

A dozen officials will take their seats across the Treasure Valley, with big changes in Meridian and Nampa.

cmsewell@idahostatesman.comDecember 27, 2013 

Newly elected politicians will be sworn in during each city’s first council meeting of the year.

Meridian and Nampa both have three new council members, and Nampa has a new mayor, Bob Henry.

Three cities — Boise, Caldwell and Middleton — retained all of their incumbents.


The three new council members are Joe Borton, Luke Cavener and Genesis Milam. Councilman Keith Bird was re-elected.

- Swearing in: 6 p.m., Tuesday, Jan. 7.


Bob Henry defeated Tom Dale in the mayor’s race.

The three new council members are Paul Raymond, Randy Haverfield and Bruce Skaug. Councilwoman Pam White was re-elected.

- 6:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 6.


Council members Ben Quintana, TJ Thomson and Maryanne Jordan were all re-elected.

- 6 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 7.


There are two new council members: Jeff Kunz and Stan Ridgeway. They replace John Grasser and Jason Pierce, who did not seek re-election.

- 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 14.


Elfreda Higgins replaces Kathleen A. Simko on the council. Mayor John Evans and Councilman Jeff Souza were re-elected.

- 5 p.m. Monday, Jan. 6.


Pat Jones replaces Doug Hoiland, who did not seek re-election to the council. Richard Cardoza was re-elected.

- 7 p.m., Tuesday, Jan. 7.


Richard A. Lockett defeated Gary Smith for a spot on the council. Councilwoman Tammy McDaniel was re-elected.

- 7 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 7.


Mayor Garret Nancolas and Councilmen Terrence Biggers, Dennis Callsen, Rob Hopper and Mike Pollard were re-elected.

- 7 p.m. Monday, Jan. 6.


Councilmen Rob Kiser and Lenny Riccio were re-elected.

- 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 8.

Cynthia Sewell: 377-6428, Twitter: @CynthiaSewell

Idaho Statesman is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service