Boise State football places four on All-Mountain West first team

STATESMAN STAFFDecember 11, 2013 

Boise State sophomore Jay Ajayi finished the regular season second in the Mountain West with 17 rushing touchdowns.


— Boise State sophomore tailback Jay Ajayi, senior left tackle Charles Leno Jr., junior defensive end Demarcus Lawrence and senior defensive tackle Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe were named to the All-Mountain West first team Tuesday.

Senior center Matt Paradis (a first-teamer last year), sophomore cornerback Donte Deayon and junior safety Jeremy Ioane made the second team.

Junior kicker Dan Goodale, junior wide receiver Matt Miller and sophomore wide receiver Shane Williams-Rhodes made honorable mention.

Ajayi ranks third in the Mountain West with 110.7 rushing yards per game and second with 17 rushing touchdowns. Leno has started every game at left tackle. Lawrence led the Mountain West in sacks per game (10.5 total) and tackles for loss per game (19.5 total). Tjong-A-Tjoe is tied for fifth on the team with 50 tackles and has four pass breakups, most on the team by a player who isn't a cornerback.

All-MW first team

OFFENSE: QB: David Carr, Sr., Fresno State; WR: Davante Adams, So., Fresno State; WR: Chandler Jones, Sr., San Jose State; RB: Jay Ajayi, So., Boise State; RB: Kapri Bibbs, So., Colorado State; TE: Crockett Gilmore, Sr., Colorado State; OL: Charles Leno Jr., Sr., Boise State; OL: Weston Richburg, Sr., Colorado State; OL: Joel Bitonio, Sr., Nevada; OL: Tyler Larsen, Sr., Utah State; K: Jared Roberts, Jr., Colorado State; PR/KR: Carlos Wiggins, So., New Mexico

DEFENSE: DL: Demarcus Lawrence, Jr., Boise State; DL: Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe, Sr., Boise State; DL: Brock Hekking, Jr., Nevada; DL: Eddie Yarbrough, So., Wyoming; LB: Shaquil Barrett, Sr., Colorado State; LB: Keith Smith, Sr., San Jose State; LB: Jake Doughty, Sr., Utah State; DB: Derron Smith, Jr., Fresno State; DB: Nat Berhe, Sr., San Diego State; DB: Bené Benwikere, Sr., San Jose State; DB: Nevin Lawson, Sr., Utah State; P: Ben Skaer, Sr., New Mexico

INDIVIDUAL HONORS: Offensive Player of the Year: Derek Carr, QB, Fresno State; Defensive Player of the Year: Shaquil Barrett, LB, Colorado State; Special Teams Player of the Year: Carlos Wiggins, KR/PR, New Mexico; Freshman of the Year: Tyler Winston, WR, New Mexico; Coach of the Year: Matt Wells, Utah State

All-MW second team

OFFENSE: QB: David Fales, Sr., San Jose State; WR: Devante Davis, Jr., UNLV; WR: Josh Harper, Jr., Fresno State; RB: Tim Cornett, Sr., UNLV; RB: Kasey Carrier, Sr., New Mexico; TE: Marcel Jensen, Sr., Fresno State; OL: Matt Paradis, Sr., Boise State; OL: Ty Sambrailo, Jr., Colorado State; OL: Bryce Quigley, Sr., San Diego State; OL: Nicholas Kaspar, Sr., San Jose State; OL: Brett Boyko, Jr., UNLV; K: Austin Lopez, So., San Jose State; PR/KR: Isaiah Burse, Sr., Fresno State

DEFENSE: DL: Tyeler Davison, Jr., Fresno State; DL: Beau Yap, Jr., Hawaii; DL: B.J. Larsen, Jr., Utah State; DL: AJ Pataili'i, Sr., Utah State; LB: Ejiro Ederaine, So., Fresno State; LB: Kyler Fackrell, So., Utah State; LB: Zach Vigil, Jr., Utah State; DB: Donte Deayon, So., Boise State; DB: Jeremy Ioane, Jr., Boise State; DB: Shaq Bell, Sr., Colorado State; DB: Marqueston Huff, Sr., Wyoming; P: Chase Tenpenny, Sr., Nevada

Idaho Statesman is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service