At least 23 states to accept Idaho's concealed carry permit

Statesman staffAugust 16, 2013 

New process

Legislators created an "enhanced" concealed carry training program for firearms owners, in hopes that the extra education would convince more states to honor Idaho's permits. Twenty-nine states previously accepted Idaho's basic permit. The Idaho attorney general released an update on responses to the new program Thursday.

Which states?

Three - Nevada, New Mexico, South Carolina - will accept only the enhanced permit. Twenty will honor either concealed carry permit: Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming.


Eleven states - California, Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont - have declined to honor Idaho's permits.

Idaho Statesman is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service