Scotland's Knox shoots record 59 at Boise Open, holds lead

July 26, 2013 

Russell Knox of Scotland hit golf's magic number Friday morning at Hillcrest Country Club: 59.

Knox reeled off an eagle and four birdies on a five-hole stretch of the front nine, his back nine, in the second round of the Albertsons Boise Open. He needed to par the last two holes and two-putted from about 40 feet on No. 8 and 70 feet on No. 9. He made a 7-footer to seal the round. The video is below:

"You just can't miss that putt," he said. "It's that simple. I don't know how many chances I'll ever get to shoot 59. Miss wasn't an option. It was going in."

His 12-under round broke the tournament record by two shots.

"It's a dream come true," Knox said.

Knox, who shot 2-under 69 in the first round, left the course at 14-under and leading by one shot.

59 HISTORY Tour Notah Begay III, 1998, Dominion Open (par-72) Doug Dunakey, 1998, Miami Valley Open (70) Jason Gore, 2005, Cox Classic (71) Will Wilcox, 2013, Utah Championship (71) Russell Knox, 2013, Albertsons Boise Open (71)

PGA Tour Al Geiberger, 1977, Memphis Classic (72) Chip Beck, 1991, Las Vegas Invitational (72) David Duval, 1999, Bob Hope Chrysler Classic (72) Paul Goydos, 2010, John Deere Classic (71) Stuart Appleby, 2010, Greenbrier Classic (70)

Second-round updates from the course, via sports reporter Chadd Cripe (follow him on Twitter @IDS_BroncoBeat):

Videos, photos and tweets from the course:

With Round 1 of the Albertsons Boise Open in the books, and golfers on the course for Friday's Round 2, catch up on Thursday's action here:

Video highlights from Round 1:

An up-and-down — but mostly up — Round 1 for Meridian's Joe Panzeri left him tied for 29th at the end of the day. Read the story here.

Our photo gallery from Round 1 can be found here.

Round 1 ended with 2010 Boise Open champion Hunter Haas sharing the lead with New Zealand's Steven Alker. Here's our recap story.

Finally, follow today's action with a live scoreboard.


• Where: Hillcrest Country Club is at 4610 Hillcrest Drive in Boise. The par-71 course is 6,807 yards in length.

• When: Gates open at 7 a.m. Friday, and at 7:30 a.m. Saturday and Sunday. Tee times begin at 7:15 a.m. Friday.

• Tickets: Go to for information — and to donate to your favorite charity. Daily passes are available at the course starting at $15.

• Parking: There is no parking at the course, but there is free parking at Borah High School (6001 Cassia St.), and a free shuttle that will run regularly throughout the tournament.

• TV coverage on The Golf Channel (tape delayed): 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. Friday; 4:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Saturday; 5 to 7:30 p.m. Sunday.

• Concert Friday night: An Evening with Curtis Stigers begins at 7 p.m. Stigers is a jazz musician from Boise. Tickets are $15 and can be purchased at Tickets bought this week will have to be picked up at will call. There will be preferred lawn seating, and concert-goers are asked to bring blankets only; no chairs and no outside food or beverages are allowed. Free parking and shuttle service from Borah High will be provided.

• 2012 champion: Luke Guthrie, who has earned more than $930,000 on the PGA Tour this season.

• Next week: The's next event is the Mylan Classic in Canonsburg, Pa.



7:15 a.m. — Fran Quinn, Ryuji Imada, Hunter Haas

7:25 a.m. — Sam Saunders, Andrew D. Putnam, Jonathan Hodge

7:35 a.m. — Peter Tomasulo, Philip Pettitt, Jr., Tyrone Van Aswegen

7:45 a.m. — Andrew Buckle, Danny Lee (No. 9 on money list), Mike Lavery

7:55 a.m. — Paul Claxton, Len Mattiace, Steve Wheatcroft

8:05 a.m. — Rob Oppenheim, Will MacKenzie, Troy Merritt

8:15 a.m. — Brice Garnett (19), Chesson Hadley (3), Mark Anderson (7)

8:25 a.m. — Jamie Lovemark (14), Ben Martin (4), Jeff Klauk

8:35 a.m. — Steven Alker (21), Benjamin Alvarado (10), Jim Renner (12)

8:45 a.m. — Bio Kim, Michael Sims, Derek Fathauer

8:55 a.m. — Dustin Garza, James Sacheck, John Peterson

9:05 a.m. — Martin Piller, Bronson La’Cassie, Todd Baek

9:15 a.m. — Jonathan Moore, Jim Empey, Adam Martens


7:15 a.m. — Ariel Canete, Russell Knox, Billy Hurley III

7:25 a.m. — Cliff Kresge, Lee Janzen, David Lipsky

7:35 a.m. — Marco Dawson, Shane Bertsch, Rafael Echenique

7:45 a.m. — Aaron Goldberg, Ashley Hall (22), Chad Collins

7:55 a.m. — Richard Scott, Ryan Spears, Alex Cejka

8:05 a.m. — Scott Parel (20), Aron Price, Vince Covello

8:15 a.m. — Daniel Chopra (25), James Nitties, Peter Lonard

8:25 a.m. — Brett Wetterich, Byron Smith, Kent Jones

8:35 a.m. — Brett Stegmaier, Nick Flanagan, Matt Bettencourt

8:45 a.m. — Bryden MacPherson, Nick Rousey, Stephan Jaeger

8:55 a.m. — Kevin Kim, Andy Pope, Zack Miller

9:05 a.m. — Kelly Kraft, Matt Hendrix, Joey McLister

9:15 a.m. — Riley Arp, Andrew Scott, Sean Thomsen


12:15 p.m. — Franklin Corpening, Garth Mulroy, Skip Kendall

12:25 p.m. — Chris Wilson, Sung Kang, Todd Demsey

12:35 p.m. — Andrew Loupe, Dawie van der Walt, D.J. Brigman

12:45 p.m. — Joe Durant, Michael Connell, Patrick Sheehan

12:55 p.m. — Matt Davidson, Randall Hutchison, Todd Hamilton

1:05 p.m. — Alexandre Rocha (24), B.J. Staten, Bhavik Patel

1:15 p.m. — Hudson Swafford, Richard S. Johnson, J.J. Killeen

1:25 p.m. — Scott Sterling, Matias O'Curry, Mathew Goggin (16)

1:35 p.m. — Edward Loar (2), Chris Smith, Brad Elder

1:45 p.m. — Reid Edstrom, Erik Flores, Josh Broadaway

1:55 p.m. — Scott Harrington, Tom Hoge, Jerod Turner

2:05 p.m. — Oscar Fraustro, I J Jang, Steve Friesen

2:15 p.m. — Ryan Cook, Scott Smith, Chris Williams


12:15 p.m. — David Gossett, Roland Thatcher, Brian Duncan

12:25 p.m. — Adam Crawford, Corey Nagy, Matt Weibring

12:35 p.m. — Camilo Benedetti, Brad Adamonis, Miguel Angel Carballo

12:45 p.m. — Gavin Coles, Whee Kim, Guy Boros

12:55 p.m. — Carlos Franco, Scott Dunlap, Dusty Fielding

1:05 p.m. — Spencer Levin, Lee Bedford, Ron Whittaker

1:15 p.m. — Michael Putnam (No. 1), Alex Prugh (15), Tim Wilkinson (8)

1:25 p.m. — Wes Roach (23), Kevin Foley (17), Kevin Kisner (13)

1:35 p.m. — Will Wilcox (6), Jason Gore, Alex Aragon (5)

1:45 p.m. — Brian Prouty, Kevin Tway, Tim Kunick

1:55 p.m.— Scott Pinckney, Clodomiro Carranza, Fernando Mechereffe

2:05 p.m. — Dae-Hyun Kim, Jason Allred, Matt Hill

2:15 p.m. — Tain Lee, Ty Travis, Joe Panzeri


Idaho Statesman is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service