Making Good: Idaho job changes, recognition and other achievements © 2013 Idaho StatesmanApril 30, 2013 


    Email, fax Your Business Community at 377-6449, or write to Your Business Community, c/o Newsroom, Idaho Statesman, P.O. Box 40, Boise, ID 83707. Individual portraits are welcomed. All submissions become property of the Statesman.


Gov. Butch Otter announced the recipients of the Governor's Awards for Excellence in Agriculture at the 2013 Idaho Ag Summit, held recently in Boise. The winners are Clark and Debbie Kauffman, of Filer, for Marketing Innovation; Gayle Anderson, Genessee, for Education/Advocacy; Robert Blair, Kendrick, for Technical Innovation; Marvin Wittman, Lewiston, for Lifetime Achievement; and Nick Purdy of Bellevue for Environmental Stewardship. Award recipients were selected from applications submitted by various agriculture agencies, organizations and individuals across Idaho.


Bruce Finney, Rex W. Force, Thom Hasenpflug, Timothy S. Magnuson and Michael A. Thomas, Idaho State University faculty members, have received 2013 Outstanding Researcher awards and were honored on April 24.

Finney is a professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, with a joint appointment in geosciences. Much of his research focuses on using lake and ocean sediment-based data to study past and future climate changes and their effects on wildlife, humans and fish. He is known for his research on how climate change affects Pacific salmon populations. More than 100 of Finney's publications have been featured in peer-reviewed journals, 40 of which have been published since his arrival at ISU in 2007. His publications have been cited more than 5,000 times in peer-reviewed literature.

Finney serves as assistant director for the Center of Archaeological Materials and Applied Spectroscopy, and is the director of the Stable Isotope Laboratory of the Interdisciplinary Laboratory of Elemental and Isotopic Analysis. To date, his research funding has totaled more than $7 million, much of which has come from competitive National Science Foundation grants.

Force is associate dean for clinical research in the Division of Health Sciences at Idaho State. He holds appointments as professor of pharmacy practice and family medicine and director of research in the Department of Family Medicine. Force earned his bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from Oregon State University and his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Texas, after which he completed a clinical research fellowship at Ohio State University. He also is an affiliate professor of family medicine at the University of Washington.

Force is a steering committee member for the WWAMI (Washington, Wyoming, Alaska, Montana, Idaho regional medical education program) Practice and Research Network with the Department of Family Medicine, based at the University of Washington. In addition, he chairs the Community Advisory Panel of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy's Practice-based Research Network. He has authored more than 50 professional and research publications, and presented more than 100 research papers or abstracts. He has been on the faculty at Idaho State since 1993.

Hasenpflug is nationally recognized as a unique performer and educational voice, while his compositions for percussion are played all over the world. He is an associate professor of percussion and chair and director of performing arts at Idaho State University.

Hasenpflug has presented performances and clinics at many universities, high schools and festivals, and for several Percussive Arts Society chapter days. He performed at the society's 2011 and 2012 international conventions.

As a composer, he has been commissioned by some of the field's leading percussionists and has received top awards in the 1995 PAS composition contest for "South of Jupiter," as well as receiving the 1993 Louis Smadbeck prize for "Six Bagatelles." His percussion quartet, Bicksa, is one of the most widely programmed collegiate percussion works of the past 25 years. He was a featured composer-artist at both the 2006 and 2007 International Conventions.

Hasenpflug has performed as a member of numerous symphonies, including acting as principal timpanist in the South Dakota Symphony and, most recently, principal percussionist with the Idaho State Civic Symphony. He has performed in symphonic and freelance capacities with Peter Cetera, the Moody Blues, Blood Sweat and Tears and others. He received degrees in percussion and composition from Ithaca College and a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from the University of Colorado.

Magnuson is a microbiologist and associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences. He received his bachelor's degree in biochemistry from the University of Minnesota, and earned both a master of science and a doctorate in bacteriology from the University of Idaho. He held postgraduate positions at the University of Massachusetts and Montana State University. In 2001, he began a tenure-track appointment at Idaho State University, where he has developed a successful and diverse research portfolio in Environmental Microbiology.

Magnuson has published more than 20 papers while at Idaho State and has presented research at national and international conferences on microbiology, bioenergy and geochemistry. He serves as a reviewer and editor for several prestigious microbiology journals and has been a long-standing member of the American Society for Microbiology.

Magnuson has been awarded more than $1 million in funding from federal and private entities, and has mentored 30 postdoctoral, graduate, and undergraduate researchers.

Thomas is an associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, specializing in evolutionary biology, genome biology and bioinformatics. His research team has been applying this expertise toward understanding potential human health implications of psychoactive pharmaceuticals (for example, Prozac) that end up in aquatic systems.

Thomas serves as academic director of the Molecular Research Core Facility, which provides research resources and training opportunities for dozens of regional academic, government and industry researchers. He also directs the university's National Institutes of Health-funded INBRE program, which enhances biomedical research infrastructure, opens biomedical research career opportunities for Idaho students and increases biomedical research activities at Idaho State.

Thomas conducted postdoctoral studies at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee. He earned his doctorate at Penn State University, master's degree at Kansas State University, and bachelor's degree at the University of Nebraska.


Scott Curtis, executive director of the Caldwell branch, and Cliff Naumann, executive director of the Downtown Boise branch, have accepted positions as senior vice presidents of the Treasure Valley Family YMCA.

Curtis and Naumann have long histories with the YMCA, both as staff and volunteers, and have each served in their current position for eight years. They will report to YMCA CEO Jim Everett and oversee operations, including four YMCA facilities, 22 child care centers, valleywide youth and health and wellness programs, and Y Camp at Horsethief Reservoir.

As for the executive director positions that Curtis and Naumann will be vacating, the Downtown Boise job has been filled internally and a search to fill the Caldwell job is underway.

Idaho Statesman is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service