Mayors honor Treasure Valley students

April 25, 2013 

Six mayors, 79 students The 19th annual Mayors' Awards to Youth on Wednesday featured the leaders of Boise, Eagle, Garden City, Kuna, Meridian and Star recognizing students from their communities who have demonstrated character by rising above hardships, serving their communities, and exhibiting kindness and consideration for others.

Astronaut Barbara Morgan delivered opening remarks at the ceremony, which took place in the Simplot Ballroom at Boise State's Student Union Building.

The winners:

Sulemita Andriychuck, Lowell Scott Middle School

Peyton Appell, Lake Hazel Elementary

Jordan Basterrechea, Rolling Hills Charter School

Monique Bell, Meridian Academy

Georgette Bisoka, West Junior High

Sarah Bofukya Bope, South Junior High

Kyle James Bradley, Dennis Technical Education Center

McKenna Katherine Breen, Crossroads Middle School

Mariah Brewer, Village Charter School

Donald Bush, Pathways Middle School

Kyle Campbell, Rocky Mountain High

Chris Carp, Meridian High

Jordyn Crawford, Lake Hazel Elementary

Camille Cressy, Centennial High

Josh Davis, Eagle Academy

Jazmyn Dildine, Central Academy

Alyssa Dittus, Sheridan Academy

Kara Erickson, Les Bois Junior High

Amelia Erickson, Marian Pritchett School

Margaret Evanshen, Boise High

Elizabeth Feist, Kuna Middle School

Grayson Felder, Frank Church High

Alicia Fong, Fairmont Junior High

Ashley Ford, Riverglen Junior High

Courtney Fry, Eagle High

Haley Gardner, Capital High

Sallie Green-DeLeon, Marian Pritchett School

Shelbie Hackett, Borah High

Tyler Haddock, Compass Charter School

Hailey Hall, Heritage Middle School

Samuel Hoff, Cole Valley Christian School

Molla Omar Huq, Treasure Valley Math and Science Center

Cydney Hurt, Dennis Technical Education Center

Gavin Iverson, Meridian Middle School

Michael Jimenez, Village Charter School

Shukuru Kamlete, Capital High

Esther Kasalira, Hillside Junior High

Andrew Kik, Frank Church High

Adele Kramber, North Junior High

Paige Leonnig, Eagle High

Nicole Livingston, Boise High

Dakota Magwire, Meridian Academy

Samuel Manderscheid, Meridian Technical Charter High

Emily Marin, Rocky Mountain High

Alexandra Marsh, East Junior High

Yerma Martinez, Pathways Middle School

Aspin Mecham, Timberline High

Ellen Miller, North Star Charter School

Mohamed H. Mkoma, Fairmont Junior High

Nishant Mohan, Treasure Valley Math and Science Center

Patrick Muteba Ngalamulume, Borah High

Owen Olsen-Smith, Anser Charter School

Carlos Ortega, Renaissance High

Trevor Passey, Riverglen Junior High

Ignacio Patlan, Hillside Junior High

Julie Patterson, Fresco Arts Academy

Abigail Piper, Kuna High

Jordin Pridmore, St. Mary's School

Diamond Quarnberg, Crossroads Middle School

Acacia Quimby, Meridian High

Erena Radion, Heritage Middle School

Samantha Rasmussen, Kuna Middle School

Zach Reider, Meridian Medical Arts Charter High

Sierra Nicole Roden, Anser Charter School

Melissa Rodriguez, Capital High

Sophia Santucci, Eagle Middle

Jonathan Sarles, South Junior High

Shea Siegert, Bishop Kelly High

Daniel D. Smith, West Junior High

Katiana Stankewsky, East Junior High

Sena Stillman, St. Joseph's Catholic School

Derek Sulek, Kuna High

Paige Szathmary, North Junior High

Mary Tabb, Riverstone International School

Nicholas Thometz, Galileo Academy

Matthew Turner, Eagle Middle School

Travis White, Lowell Scott Middle School

Mary Yaryan, Mountain View High

Parker Yeakley, Eagle High

Idaho Statesman is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service